Dime Jaguar

I’ve been busy this past few weeks. This is a poster I did for a project called Ilustrando Para in Monterrey, Mexico. It is a yearly show that features illustrators, designers and visual artists paying tribute to iconic musicians by interpreting their songs in the form of an illustration. This year, the band chosen was Caifanes, one of the most important bands from Mexico, and one of my favorites as well. This year’s show is called Haremos Historia(We’ll make History) after one of the band’s songs.

On top of being a cool show, Haremos Historia, Ilustrando Para Caifanes will donate the proceeds of the poster sales to a charity that treats children with autism.

The song I got was Dime Jaguar (Tell Me Jaguar) which is not technically a Caifanes song, but a Jaguares one. Jaguares is a band that formed after Caifanes broke up back in the 90’s featuring some of the members of Caifanes.

Dime Jaguar

 

Detail

 

Detail

 

Detail

 

Here is my initial sketch. As you can see, the idea is basically the same, but the execution changed quite a bit. I like the sketch too, but I decided to go a little bigger on the waves and add more detail to the Jaguar.

Dime Jaguar Sketch

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Dime Jaguar”

  1. ImJeffHanson Says:

    This is EPIC!

  2. giving thanks « Agujas Says:

    […] victor melendez – a graphic artist […]

  3. Verónica Says:

    I recently ran across your blog and as someone who can not draw at all, i really admire your creative drawings and illustrations. I am therefore passing on the Reader Appreciation Award to you. Details here – http://agujasblog.com/2012/11/01/giving-thanks/. Saludos desde Tejas.

  4. dimitri Says:

    How can I purchase this print?

  5. John Says:

    Victor, anyway I can buy this? I would like to put it in my office. Really great picture!

Leave a Reply

